Using your AEDC results

Using your AEDC results

The Australian Early Development Census (AEDC) is a population based measure of how children have developed by the time they start school. It looks at five areas of early childhood development domains: physical health and wellbeing, social competence, emotional maturity, language and cognitive skills, and communication skills and general knowledge.

This​ page will ​assist you to access and understand your community’s AEDC results. You will also find information on how to use the results to engage your community and plan actions to better support local children and their families.

Community-level AEDC results and other useful demographic information are reported publicly as data tables, maps and Community Profiles, and these can be accessed through the AEDC Data Explorer. ​

The resources below provide information on how the AEDC results can benefit communities in the planning and delivery of targeted actions to support local children and families. The resources available in this section include:

  • AEDC User Guides
  • Understanding the AEDC results fact sheet
  • Comparing results fact sheet
  • Introduction to the AEDC video
  • Informing your planning video
  • Understanding the data video
  • Additional data sources – to help you to get a more complete picture of your community​.

Who is your AEDC State/Territory Coordinator?

State and Territory Coordinators promote and support the AEDC across their respective jurisdictions. Their role is to liaise with a range of stakeholders at all levels of government, data managers, community leaders, schools, early childhood educators and researchers. 

Contact your State and Territory Coordinator to learn more about the AEDC results for communities in your jurisdiction. 

 State and Territory  Coordinator Name Contact Number  Email 
Australian Capital Territory Melanie Thompson 02 6207 1983 melanie.thompson@act.gov.au
New South Wales Teresa Biurra 02 9244 5​3​4​4 teresa.biurra1@det.nsw.edu.au
Northern Territory David Guy 08 89​01 1359 David.Guy@nt.gov.au
Queensland ​Jennifer ​Clutterbuck 07 ​3328 ​6710 ​jennifer.​clutterbuck@det.qld.gov.au
South Australia Sheree Simmons 08 8226 1064  sheree.simmons@sa.gov.au
Tasmania Christine Woolley 03 6165 5708  christine.j.woolley@education.tas.gov.au
Victoria Cathie Nolan  03 9651 3539 nolan.catherine.m@edumail.vic.gov.au 
Western Australia  Gail Clark  08 9264 5366 gail.clark@education.wa.edu.au

Resources for using your AEDC results

Search results for